Mountaintops 

Sometimes, God calls us to the mountaintops and things get real because instead of just singing about those places, you really have to go there. Sometimes, he calls us to the places that we’d rather not go, but we can say yes knowing that He goes along with us. Seasons change. Callings change. I change. Jesus never changes. He is good where I can’t find good. He lights my path with the kind of light to keep me going, while still realizing my dependency on him. He teaches me how to illuminate that which has been in the dark. He shows me what it looks like to live a life of surrender. He tells me that it’s okay to come out of hiding. 
Sometimes, He comes like fire. A fire that has to be let out. A fire that looks like love and passion. A fire that burns up apprehension and hesitation. Sometimes, he comes like the rain, cleansing me and making me new. Covering me in grace for the days to come. At times I walk with confidence and at times I fall backwards- yet I never fall so far that He isn’t there to catch me. 
Then I realize that surrender to Him is to rest in safety. To give up control is to gain freedom. To follow even the hardest of callings is to receive the greatest of blessings, and that this life is ultimately a journey to the mountaintops with Him.

Leave a comment